ChuckE

Previously mentioned asshat slumlord will be hearing from my attorney. As soon as I find one that will write a bully letter for cheap. Today was 30 days since I vacated the property and I have yet to hear from slumlord. I think he must be scared.

Speaking of scared, Ella’s friend K had his birthday party today and spent, not kidding, the first hour of the “party” in his dad’s arms saying over and over “done…done..done…” Poor thing. He sooo didn’t want to be there. My 3 year old, on the other hand, was gone. We walked in and she stripped her coat, left it on the ground and demanded tokens. She’s been there once in her life but knew exactly what to do and where things were. It was actually a bit relaxing because Amelia was content to chew on pizza (and later covered in cake) and Ella came back to me every couple of minutes like clockwork for more tokens or a bite of food or a slurp of orange soda. Independent children aren’t so bad after all…as long as they are doing what *they* want to do.

So I’m musing about the ChuckE corporation and how to reroute the growing generation of preschoolers who beg and plead for chuckE. What part of CHucke keeps them coming back? Is it the contstant stimulation? It is the 6 foot f’ing rat? Is it the riding games mixed with the skill games mixed with the giant climbing structure? Cause it’s not the pizza, I’ll say that.

I know it’s January but whatever happend to backyard parties or city park parties? Roller rink parties (that was my fave for many a year)? Sleepover slumber parties?

And don’t get me started on goodie bags. Should we, as moms, stress over the gifts for the guests? It’s not like they’re presenting an award or anything. And just who is the target audience for ChuckE? Toddlers? Preschoolers? Early Elementary, Late Elementary? How old is too old? How young is too young? And what about the people not there for a birthday. Just a family, eating out on a Saturday morning. How absurd. Not to mention spendy, nay expensive.

We partied and got out while the going was good. Both girls were ready for a nap by the time we got home and slept for 2 hours. I have 3 sides of my cube done. Tedius. I will finish it tomorrow so I can go back to doing what I was wanting to do all along…make pretty things from sherpa. I have some gift diapers to make in the next week and month. And a layette or two for these babes a bakin’ away. I’m delighted to be back to it. My chair has lost its “butt print” from all the sewing I was doing in the spring. I’ll have to work on that.

Leave a Reply

