Roomba and Scooba

My hugely pregnant IRL friend (yes, they do exist…I highly suggest having at least one) is tired of mopping and scrubbing her floors. I don’t blame her. I’m not pregnant and I still don’t do it as often as I should. There is still a piece of sticky banana smoosh that has congealed, hardened and become part of the floor and I still haven’t mopped. The original fruit snack. But this isn’t about me. This is about her and her wish for a scooba. A scooba is like a Roomba (the robot vacuum cleaner that’s the size of a toy poodle but vacuums around your furniture while you’re off doing whatever) except it’s for hard floors.

So this $400 contraption…oh, I’m sorry “automatic mop”…may quite possibly be the deal right? Does anyone actually purchase one of these? I thought that when the Roomba came out and then it was at MILs house the next Christmas and she still swears by it. Although, the last time I was there, she was swearing *at* it. Apparently it isn’t as good when you have an enormous doberman puppy rolling around on your Berber. Ugh. I’m not so much of a critter person. My poor children are in love with all things on four legs and I can barely stand to be in the same room with one.

I think of the Roomba and the Scooba (named after Scooby Doo?) and think that, with the combined cost of the two of them, I could hire a kick butt cleaning person that probably does windows and would take a Widget to the congealed banana as well as the flat top stove. I wonder how one goes about getting either a widget or a cleaning person. You never see them advertised. I’ll bet it’s an underground operation much like trying to get a nanny.

Leave a Reply

