Garage Sale Verdict.

File this under:  shit I don’t want to do.  For a few years anyway.  My garage sale was a marginal success.  It was a beautiful morning (that came too soon after a beautiful night) and people actually came and bought stuff.  That was the purpose of course but I had thought that it would be just the birds and I that early in the morning.  I was wrong.  Cars lined the street within 5 minutes after 8am, vying to hand over their dollars. 

Nikki and I were working until 1am getting everything set.  Bacardis may or may not have been involved in our decision to leave a good chunk for morning.  Okay they were.  All three of them.  But there was quite a bit involved in being ready this morning and I’m pleased to report that I got up in time (didn’t sleep well at all) and got it done.  So the day was a success.  I sold about half of what I put out and the other half will go to Goodwill on Monday.  The important thing is that I have smaller stacks of things in my basement storage.  I don’t feel like everything could cave in at any moment.

I was feeling pretty sick over getting rid of all the baby stuff.  I had all these nightmares about having twins and they had to sleep in my bookcase headboard because I didn’t have anything for them.  But much like all the other unpleasant tasks that I have had to endure over the past year (post funeral thank you cards, packing to move, ordering head stone, etc.), I blindly barreled through it.  I didn’t think.  I tried not to think of all the pleasant, innocent memories of our children in the tiny cotton sleepers, nestled in between us. 

My reward?  I am booking a hotel room in Minneapolis for Thursday night.  I will sleep all night for the first time in years.  I will visit my friends and go shopping.  I will eat at a restaurant without having to take someone potty or cut their food or carry wet wipes.  (Well, I should probably still take wet wipes but that would be for my eating mishaps.) 

I know that I have said before that I was tired.  But today it’s physical tired.  The kind of tired that you get as a kid in a swimming pool all day.  That kind-of-sunburnt, played hard/worked hard, freshly showered tired.  I have also said before that my house looked like a bomb went off in it.  I really mean it this time.  I haven’t done anything but garage sale for a week and it shows.  My house has never, ever been this messy.  And it’s not just messy, it’s actually dirty.  And that’s kind of embarassing and I don’t know where to start.  All I know is that I’m not starting tonight.

One thought on “Garage Sale Verdict.

Leave a Reply

