Something Phishy.

The girls and I were returning the unsold garage sale merchandise this afternoon (the stuff that didn’t belong to us of course) and we were driving on the interstate to get there.  They both had juice boxes.  The A/C was blasting.  They were watching Curious George on the matching DVD players that have saved my sanity on more than one occasion.  It was a beautiful June day in the upper midwest. 

I started spacing out (not in a dangerous way of course…just thinking while driving) about living somewhere else.  About moving.  About taking my girls and starting over.  Where would we go?  How would we get there?  Where would we live and how would we find a place to live?  How would we go about getting new friends?  Finding a church?  A school? 

I decided that we would go to Vermont.  Burlington, Vermont.  I had toured there 4 different times over the years at Christmas time.  And then when Stephen and I honeymooned in Montreal, we took a day trip to Burlington.  In hindsight, we should have honeymooned in Vermont and took a day trip to Montreal but that’s neither here nor there.  It’s a wonderful little city on the water (Lake Champlain).  It’s tucked into the backside of New England.  It doesn’t attract attention.  Nothing to see here, move along.  It’s pretty and unpretentious.  It’s a college town and there are lots of Birkenstocks and coffee shops.  Not to mention the birthplace of Ben and Jerry’s and Phish. 

We would go to Vermont.  Start over.  Just keep driving.  Have our stuff sold off and get new things.  We’d make a trip back to visit the Grandparents once a year but keep the rug out for visitors. 

And then, just as I’m in the utopia of my thoughts, Amelia throws a juice box at the back of my head and Ella peed in her carseat.  So I guess that means we’re not going anywhere.

My short list of places I would live:

  1. Burlington, Vermont
  2. Portsmouth, New Hampshire
  3. York, Maine
  4. Oregon (pick a town, any town)
  5. Anchorage, Alaska
  6. any small town north or east of St. Paul, Minnesota
  7. Missoula, Montana

I suppose this serves as a list of places to check if we ever turn up missing with no forwarding address.

2 thoughts on “Something Phishy.

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now, and I live in Vermont. Come on up, I won’t tell anyone where you’ve run off to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

