Obligatory tribute to 2008.

Happy New Year.

Last year, at this time, I was calling 2007 the flaming bag of turds that needed to be stomped out.  And I was hoping that 2008 was better.  And it was, by leaps and bounds.  It was far less dramatic than I expected it to be and, honestly, we are all doing much better than I ever dreamed possible.

I could do a big and wordy recap of the year.  You know I can.  One would think that I’m paid by the word over here.  But, instead, I’m going to steal Aunt Becky’s list.  She wanted us to post in her comments about one of the questions but I think I’ll answer them all here.  I’m oddly geeked out by stuff like this.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Lots, actually.  Mostly did things with both girls that I swore I’d never do with one.  Like take a plane trip.  Or go to a church service. 

I also bought furniture.  I bought a bedroom set in May and it’s the bed I’ve always wanted ever since I was a kid.  The headboard has a bookcase and the dresser (a “chesser” actually) has a cabinet to stack sweaters.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I made a resolution to keep breathing in and out.  I think I accomplished that.

I do have one resolution for 2009.  I will not post it here.  It’s rather personal.  But if you ask me, I will tell you.

3.  Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes.  I was fortunate enough to attend the birth of Jillian Kay on February 14th.  I helped her mama ( my good friend) have her second natural birth.  It pretty much solidified what I want to do when I grow up.  (I’d like to be a birth doula)

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.  Thank the good Lord.  It had better be a good long while before that happens.

5.  What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

Motivation.  It really is high time that my ass-print left this chair.

6.  What countries did you visit?

Mexico.  And Texas.  And, yes, in my opinion Texas is a whole other country.  They seem to think so too.

7.  What date in 2008 will remain etched in your memory and why?

June 19…the day I met Jen Lancaster in Minneapolis.  Don’t know why.  I think because that trip was just for me.  And because I really do enjoy her writing.  It was nice to put a voice with her words.

8.  What was your biggest achievement of the year?

The obvious answer is that we did not crawl into a hole and disappear from the world.  Honestly, this blog is.  I had been writing for a while in another forum and was convinced by the mamas there that I needed to go public.  I have only regretted it once.  Or twice.  But this blogging thing has taken on a life of its own.

9.  What was your biggest failure?

Weight Watchers.  And probably joining the Y although I’m willing to give that another go if Amelia is.  For the record, I have only seen these numbers on the scale when at least 16 weeks pregnant.  So, there’s that.

10.  Did you suffer illness or injury?

I caught every stomach/intestinal bug going around.  And an ear infection.  And strep throat.  And a sinus infection.  Oh and that last bout with pneumonia.  So…yeah.  Didn’t get injured though so that’s a first.  Every year usually has something.  Yea 2008!

11.  What was the best thing you bought?

Aside from the aforementioned bed set, my laptop and my ipod come to mind. 

12.  Whose behavior merited celebration?

Hands down, Ella’s.  She turned four in July and something snapped and she’s a different kid.  Or maybe it was school.  I don’t know.  But whatever it is, four is alot better than three.  If I have to answer with somebody we all know, I’m going to have to go with Mr. Obama’s.   I never could have hoped for such a clean campaign.  He is uplifting in his speech and I enjoy watching how he interacts with his family.  If he runs this country half as well, we will all be better for it.

13.  Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Sadly, my mother’s.  I love her dearly but, wow.  I had a rough year with both my parents.  I’m not sure what I expected.

14.  Where did most of your money go?

Target. 

Seriously though, if I could answer this, I wouldn’t be in such a pickle half the time.  We used to live on about half this and I still have the same issues.  Maybe I should add “Make a budget” to my list of things to do in 2009.  Yeesh.

15.  What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Ella starting school.  Turned out to be a bit of a let down.  But still a good thing.  I was also excited to go to Texas in January.  That was a much needed break.

16.  What song will remind you of 2008?

“Broken” by Jack Johnson

17.  Compared to this time last year are you:

happier or sadder?  Way, way happier.

fatter or thinner?  Way, way fatter.  Okay maybe not two ways but at least one and a half ways.  To the tune of about 20 pounds.

richer or poorer?  I’m going to have to go with poorer.  I spent our inheritance on a large slab of granite so I guess it wasn’t mine to feel rich about.  We’re about the same.

18.  What do you wish you’d done more of?

Made better use of really nice days.  Played with the kids more instead of being all wrapped up in what had to be done around here.  I should have traveled more.  Made Amelia sleep in her own bed sooner.

19.  What do you wish you’d done less of?

Late night internet shopping.  Holy crap.  Can somebody shut off my paypal after 11pm please?

20.  How will you be spending Christmas?

In 2009?  Don’t have a clue but I suspect it will be much of the same. 

21.  What would cheer you up today?

A new year’s kiss.  Not gonna happen but I’m just answering honestly.  What would *have* cheered me up would have been to have lost the littles today.  My house is totally trashed and I need to get rid of Christmas from my living room.

22.  Did you fall in love in 2008?

Noooooo.  Not exactly.

23.  How many one night stands?

BWHAHAHAHAHA!!!  Yeah, right.

24.  What was your favorite tv program?

Grey’s Anatomy.  And anything involving midgets or live births on Discovery Health.  Dirty Jobs (not watching, just listening).  Old reruns of Scrubs, Two and a half men and Family Guy.

25.  Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No.  I don’t feel that hating anyone is a good use of my emotional energy. 

26. What was the best book you read?

The Twilight series.  I loved getting all wrapped up in it.  Oh and Jen Lancaster’s Such a pretty Fat. 

27.  What was your greatest musical discovery?

Pandora Radio

28.  What did you want and get?

Amelia out of my bed.  Not weaned but at least I get to have the whole bed to myself.

29.  What was your favorite film of this year?

I didn’t see very many movies that weren’t animated.  (Happy New Year, by the way…just turned midnight here)  The only movie I saw in the theatre was Twilight.  It was really great. 

30.  What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?

I turned 33.  I worked on the opera all day and then my friends took me out for a beer.  Mostly worked though.

31.  What one think would have made your year immeasurably more pleasurable?

The ongoing theme is that I would like to be appreciated.  And have someone around interested in what I have to say.  And a backrub now and then.

32.  How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

I discovered the wonder and joy of highlights.  Other than that, it was the year of the trackpants.

33.  What kept you sane?

I have four friends and my sister who all gave a damn on the right days and at the right moments.  And listened to my emotional bullshit.  Believe me, it took that many people to keep me grounded.

34.  Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Fancy?  Or want to bring home to meet my family?  Or want to bring home to meet the inside of my sheets?  This is a loaded question.  I admire the Obama family.  I want to bring home Patrick Dempsey (and pretty much the entire male cast of GA).

35.  What political issue stirred you the most?

The gay marriage debates around the country.  I just don’t see what the big effing deal is.  Or why it is any different than my marriage. 

36.  Whom did you miss?

Stephen.  Every.  Freaking.  Day.  But not every moment so I guess that’s progress.

37.  Who was the best new person you met?

Nobody new but lots of people that I got to know much better. 

38.  Tell us a valuable life lesson learned in 2008?

I’m not the same person I was five years ago.  And it really is okay to change.

39.  Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

“All I know is that I’m breathing.  All I can do is keep breathing.”  ==Ingrid Michaelson “Keep Breathing” 

 

So that’s it.  2008 in a nutshell.  And now it’s over.  Really, really over.  My goals are few for 2009.  Fit into my jeans.  Try not to totally fly off the handle at Ella’s preschool teacher.  Train my dog.  Go camping more often.  Play more.  Worry less.  Write more.  Waste less time. 

Peace to all tonight and this year.

2 thoughts on “Obligatory tribute to 2008.

  1. Happy 2009 to you! Thanks already for my new friend – Pandora – totally cool. I can park it on my butt and not have to get up to change the cd every hour!
    It is your blog so nothing is obligatory!

Leave a Reply

