I am doing it.

I woke up this morning hungry.  And sore.  I’m actually sore from my water aerobics class.  And I like it.  Do you ever start something impossible…and then wake up one day to realize “I’m really doing it!”  That was my day.  I’m really doing it.

It’s been 3 weeks since I’ve given WW the finger (again).  I could care less.  I like food too much.  I will never, ever get over that.  Not in a million years.  So my only other option is to do more.  But I hate to sweat.  My days of toting heavy things are over.  So when a friend suggested swimming, I dug out my really ugly TYR swimsuit (Ugly?  Very.  Functional?  Absolutely.) and got in the pool.  That was a month ago.

I hate to say this because I don’t like being told what to do.  My doctor has been telling me for years…since I was pregnant with Will…that I should be exercising.  He has never, not once, mentioned my weight.  He suggested it as stress relief.  And the whole time he was saying it I was thinking “Yeah, right, like I have time for that.”  But I’m here to put it down for all the interwebz to see: I feel so much better.  I sleep better.  I eat better.  I am more motivated (slightly).  I smell like chlorine no matter how many showers I get but whatever.  My hair looks and feels like multi-colored straw (still haven’t gotten in for a haircut or highlights).  So what.  I feel better.

I.  Am.  Doing.  It.

And…the revelation today that my arms, shoulder and legs look fantastic helped.  I would not have paid attention if it weren’t for the sore muscles.  My mid section is still barrel shaped but I know that my abs are in there somewhere.  Still buried and non functioning but they are there.  Bob Harper could find them but, alas, he’s too busy.  And probably out of my (also non functioning) budget.  I am doing it.  My pants fit better.  I am doing it.

Know what else I’m doing?  I get up every day.  And I take care of the littles.  They are happy and healthy.  I am doing it.  Thanks to Facebook I don’t feel the need to forget about everyone who has impacted my life.  I am blessed and I didn’t know it by staying in my little hole all day.  I am getting out.  I am doing it.

I am making plans for a year out.  I am looking at moving (again) even though I hate it and am still eternally grateful for all the help I got last time I moved and will need it again.  I made a decision about Ella’s education and I’m sticking to my guns no matter what people say because I know it is the right thing.  Not the easy thing, but the right thing for her and for our family. 

I am doing it.  I will keep doing it.  As long as I feel better, I must be doing the right thing.  It started with an ugly swimsuit but it will end with a better me.

One thought on “I am doing it.

  1. oh man, I am happy for you to be is this place you are in and……damn it, I think you just might be motivating me too. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

