Only child for a night.

So, this is what it’s like to have only one kid.  A five year old, at that.

Nikki took Melia for the night.  Since I bagged out of going to my sister’s party, Amelia’s sleepover was canceled, much to the dismay of the little girls.  Not yet three and they are already attached to each other.  Or, they like to have an excuse to be naughty together.  Nikki offered to take her for the night.  I took that offer.  Wholeheartedly.

Ella and I ate supper.  With conversation.  We cleaned up and went to the store.  I had to get dog food and sunblock.  We ended up in the board game aisle.  Ella chose Connect Four.  How did she know that I love that game?  My brother and I used to play it on the floor of my grandma’s living room.  (Green shag carpet, vacuumed every day I’m sure)  Ella played with me for almost an hour.  By the end, she was actually using some strategy.  Very cool to see that happening.

We read books, had a snack and she went to bed.  She got herself up this morning, got a juice box and turned on Noggin.  If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times: God bless Noggin. 

So, this is what life is like with one kid.  One kid who is good at taking care of her own entertainment.  It is much quieter.  No screeching.  No pee on the bathroom floor. No uncapped markers.  I kind of like it.

I kind of miss my little girl.  I miss the baby dolls everywhere.  Kind of.

It’s a weird feeling, only having one kid.  Kind of nice feeling.  And kind of “OMG, I left the baby at the store” feeling.

Leave a Reply

