Tribute to 2009.

Well friends, here we are again.  Midnight.  Another year.  A new decade.  I think I’ve lived like 4 lives in the “oughts” and I’m ready for something a little quieter.  But let’s focus on 2009, shall we?

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

Not a damn thing.  Seriously.  I can’t think of anything. 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I did keep it (gasp!)  I won’t say what it is but I had one single resolution.  That was resolved November 4th at or around noon.

I should make another resolution for 2010.  I’ll get back to you on this one.

3.  Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes.  My brother and sister-in-law had baby Olivia Marie, born February 20.  I haven’t…actually…met her.  Bad Auntie, I know.  But she is more than 1200 miles away.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.  I did lose a good friend on Halloween but I hadn’t actually seen him in years.  But nobody incredibly close.

5.  What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

A job.  A real job.  I’m a much better mother when I’m working.  And I really like the extra walking around money.  I need a reliable job.

6.  What countries did you visit?

Nothing foreign.  Totally boring.  Didn’t even leave this time zone.  Trip to Vancouver planned for May though.

7.  What date in 2009 will remain etched in your memory and why?

August 8.  That was the day I left my home in Iowa to move to a new state and start a new chapter in our lives.

8.  What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Being brave.  And moving.  I know that moving back into the arms of family isn’t all that much of an achievement.  But to me, it was huge.

9.  What was your biggest failure?

Maya.  The doggie we rescued and then had to re-home when we moved.  I liked her but wow, a huge about of work.

10.  Did you suffer illness or injury?

At least one, if not two, stomach bugs.  And an irritated kidney.  But other than that, healthy as a horse.

11.  What was the best thing you bought?

Daycare 2 days a week.  Holy crap.  What a difference that has made.  Worth every single penny. 

12.  Whose behavior merited celebration?

My girls.  I am always amazed at what they think about and how they handle situations.  They are both good students and good friends.  They are a constant source of frustration and joy and embarrassment and hilarity. 

13.  Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Ella’s kindergarten teacher.  You don’t say to a parent at the beginning of the conference “(Your child) is so cute.  She will go far because of it.  But she is a three year old in a five year old’s body.”   Once I decided that I didn’t care what she thought about me or my kids, we get along great.  And Ella is doing quite well.   

14.  Where did most of your money go?

Moving.  Setting up house.  itunes.  Mostly itunes.  And lots of eating out.

15.  What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Being able to have Thanksgiving in my own house.  With my family all here.  That was really nice.  And I went all out.

16.  What song will remind you of 2009?

“Supermassive Black Hole” by Muse.  Thank you, Twilight soundtrack for introducing me to a load of new bands. 

17.  Compared to this time last year are you:

happier or sadder?  Meh.  About the same.  I guess that’s kind of sad.

fatter or thinner?  Way, way fatter.  Again.  Yuk.  It should be my resolution to get rid of some of this.  I can’t keep buying new clothes every season. 

richer or poorer?  Richer.  I guess.  I have been working more so definitely not poorer.  I could use a course in money management but that’s not for lack of income.

18.  What do you wish you’d done more of?

Flirting.  I wish I had been more brave and taken the chances I had.  I wish I had asked for depression help sooner so I could feel better sooner. 

19.  What do you wish you’d done less of?

Internet wandering.  I mean, I’ve run across some awesome people (MckMama, Pioneer Woman, the Spohrs, the Logelins) but I’ve also scared myself and made a few too many ill-fated purchases.  And some purchases that I almost made: a Nook and a camera and all those times I filled the Hanna cart and emptied it again.

20.  How will you be spending Christmas?

In 2010?  I hope snowed in again.  Being snowed in at Christmas was the best thing for us.  Nobody here.  Nowhere to go.  It was really great.

21.  What would cheer you up today?

I don’t know.  I’m in a pretty good place right now.  I guess a hair cut and color.  I’m a little more grey this year and I should do something about it.

22.  Did you fall in love in 2009?

Yes.  Unrequited.  But I did.  More of a crush really.  But it’s hard to crush on someone from another state.

23.  How many one night stands?

None.  Technically.  It was daytime… (har, har)

24.  What was your favorite tv program?

Glee!  Oh, Glee!?  Where have you been all my life?  And Burn Notice.  And still Grey’s Anatomy of course. 

25.  Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I’ve said this before but no.  I don’t feel that hating anyone is a good use of my emotional energy. 

26. What was the best book you read?

“Columbine”.  And Danny Evans’ “Rage Against the Meshuganah”. 

27.  What was your greatest musical discovery?

itunes DJ.  Better than Pandora because it’s all music that I love. 

28.  What did you want and get?

Not a damn thing.  I got moved I guess.  But that whole thing had a life of its own. 

29.  What was your favorite film of this year?

New Moon.  Sorry, but I’m going to have to be a cougar/dork on this one.  Saw it twice.  Loved it both times.

30.  What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?

I turned 34.  My bestest friends took me out for dinner and drinks.  And we flirted (from afar) with random bar folk.  And we laughed alot.  It was a really great birthday.

31.  What one think would have made your year immeasurably more pleasurable?

That crush?  Could have amounted to something.  And who knows?  I can still see something maybe happening.  Maybe.

32.  How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

Just trying to not look like I’m wearing the clothing of someone, oh, forty pounds lighter. 

33.  What kept you sane?

Looking forward to the next gig.  And my friends.  My friends continue to hold me up and keep me laughing.  They seem to know what I need, when I need it.

34.  Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Fancy?  Again with the fancy.  Yeah, I’m not so much into celebrity.  I’m really into Pioneer Woman/Ree Drummond.  I want her life.  The kids, the ranch, the hunky husband, the camera…I want her life.

35.  What political issue stirred you the most?

Well, I lost a good chunk of my usable health insurance just from moving to a different state so I follow the health care issue very closely.  I could use some help.

36.  Whom did you miss?

Stephen.  I think about him daily.  I also miss my friends in Iowa. 

37.  Who was the best new person you met?

I met a couple of really great stagehands.  And the mom of one of Ella’s classmates is really wonderful too.  And I’m closer to a whole herd of people from earlier in my life.  Ah, the beauty of Facebook.

38.  Tell us a valuable life lesson learned in 2009?

Ask for help.  And find someone who makes you laugh.  Daily.  It makes the days that much better.

39.  Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

“We push and pull/ and I fall down sometimes/ I’m not letting go/ You hold the other line”  Breathe in, breathe out by Mat Kearney

And there it is.  2009 in a nutshell.  I was telling someone today that the whole year, despite the move and Ella starting school and reuniting with my family and my long time friends…was all…meh.  Not good.  Not bad.  Just happened.  And I went along with it.  And we had a few laughs.  And lots of drinks.  And I cried some.  And slept a little bit more.  My girls are bigger, stronger, smarter.  We are healthy.  We continue on. 

And that’s the best that anyone can ask of a single year.

Leave a Reply

