So, what can I eat?

I have lost 2 pounds in the last 3 days.  I don’t want to eat what I should and I am obsessing over what I can’t have.  Wait?  Isn’t that what detox facilities are for?  Maybe somebody should just put me away for a while.

Grumpy.

It doesn’t help that my littlest little is sick with the croup so we haven’t slept in 2 nights.  I went to bed at 8:30 last night which was good because then I got about 4 hours of sleep before being up for the next 5.  And she wet the bed again.  So, that’s fun.

I broke down and had a cup of coffee this morning.  With my stevia.  And a little bit of creamer.  I feel better.  So much better.  Just that one hit.  Just one…

The list titled “Foods to Enjoy” is haunting me.  I have put it in a report sleeve and it sits on my counter. 

1. Fresh and frozen fruits and vegetables.  All of them.  Anything that can be grown and picked and eaten with little more than washing and cooking.  All I want, anytime I want.  Except bananas.  Those I can only have twice a day.

2. Eggs–the ones with high omega-3 which is a non-issue because I get farm eggs

3. Gluten free starches: Amaranth (WTF is that?), brown rice, corn and sprouted corn tortillas, millet, quinoa, wild rice, corn and peas.

4. Sweet potatoes (which I actually love…with butter and brown sugar)

5. Beans, including all soy products: soy milk and yogurt and tofu

6. Fish and seafood with a low mercury content (catfish, clams, mussels, oysters, halibut, herring, mackerel, salmon, scallops, shrimp and tilapia)

7. Poultry: turkey and chicken, skinless breast only  (Sidenote: Anthony Bourdain said in “Kitchen Confidential” that “Chicken is for people who don’t know what they want.”  Truer words were never spoken Mr. Bourdain.)

8. Red meat: lean, organic grass-fed beef or lamb.  Lucky for me, I have a freezer full of this.  Not so much in the lean department but at least it’s grass-fed.  Also purchased from a local farmer.

9. Buffalo

10. Nuts and seed.  (no peanuts or pistachios)  Know what?  Eff off about the nuts.  Grab your own nuts.

11.  Natural nut and seed butter made from the allowed nuts: almond butter and cashew butter.  Again, foods I can’t eat.

12.  Unsweetened almond milk.  Seriously?  Grrr….

13. Fats and oils: almond oil, walnut oil, avocado oil, coconut butter and oil, grapeseed oil, macadamia nut oil, EVOO, olive oil, sesame seed oil (how many of those can I NOT eat? at least 3)

14. Beverages: filtered water, decaf green tea, herbal tea

I?  Am going to starve to death.  And there is certainly very little (other than the beef and chicken) that I have in the house.  I have the token kid friendly veggies.  And some of the beans.  And bananas. 

I will end up losing weight because I’m going to starve.  Know what I ate yesterday.  Two eggs and half an orange, whole wheat pasta and homemade tomato sauce and then for supper homemade tomato soup.  Sound like enough food?  I didn’t think so.  And that included some gluten in the wheat pasta because that’s what Ella wanted for lunch.

I’m not sure that this part is worth it.

6 thoughts on “So, what can I eat?

  1. Don’t know if you’re a seafood/fish girl. I live in South Louisiana and we eat a ton of fish…
    tilapia, wild salmon, grouper. It’s so good for you and yummy…if fish is your thing.

    What about a big salad? (circa 1994-ish Seinfeld?) Lots of veggies, avacados..some grilled chicken? If you can have as much veggies as you want throw together a kickass salad.

    Hang in there Jenn. I’m sure you’ve already done this, but maybe google some new recipes. I bet you could whip up something yummy! and filling.

    • yes, that’s the whole list. 3 weeks. And then start adding things back, one at a time to check and see how you feel and what’s causing problems. I am not kidding about being homicidal. FML.

  2. My favorite thing to do is roast chunked sweet potato and then dump some black beans on them until they almost split. Yum. I’m not sure though if you can eat black beans! To have that list and then still have to avoid some of it would totally suck.
    Coffee? Wouldn’t touch that de-tox in a million years!

  3. Thanks for this list! I went gluten-free about one month ago and I feel SO much better. Then I read something in Prevention that recommends that women my age (49!)go GF because gluten makes one feel puffy and bloated. It’s true!
    Look for a roasted root vegie recipe that I will send to your email acct.

  4. No Coffee??? I would need a detox center for that. Well that list of no no’s explains why skinny girls are so bitchy. I love organic sweet potatoes..don’t know why but they taste better than the regular sweet potatoes. I have a ton of gluten free suggestions if you need. I also heard the the Eating Clean cookbooks at B & N are worth perusing.

Leave a Reply

