Early summer pool coma.

With every new season, I breathe a sigh of relief and contentment.  I don’t know if it’s the passing of time or the littles’ new wardrobes (how great would it be to grow so fast as to necessitate a new wardrobe every season?) or even the change of scenery and activity.  Having four seasons pleases me.  And you could never get me to move to a place that is missing one or two.

Ella is out of school.  The day are warm and the nights are (mostly) cool.  The air conditioning has been on (off and on and off and on) for a couple of weeks.  Maybe I’m getting old but I cannot tolerate the sticky nights.  Also?  This house does not breathe.  I cannot get a cross breeze to save my life.  That’s why we weren’t even all the way unpacked and I was having my first ceiling fan installed.

If this holiday weekend was any indication, we are in for a good summer:  Lawn mowing, pool time, gym time, time with friends and family (mostly family), house cleaning and laundry, simple meals. 

The outdoor pool at the gym opened this weekend.  We went twice on Saturday and then again today.  Funny thing about the pool at my gym:  being in a swimsuit is the great leveler. 

I know that I have a ways to go in the whole “looks hot without clothes” department but a good 80 percent of those poolside folks need some combination of fat camp, UV rays and/or a decent colorist. 

I fit right in.  Fat, pasty and in need of a root touch-up.  And we all know how I feel about fitting in.

Tonight was also my very last fat camp class.  I think I’m doing the right thing.  I mean, I started this not to have to do it forever.  I wanted to get to the point where I was able to do it on my own.  And I think I’m there.  There’s a lot I will miss but most of what I will miss doesn’t have anything to do with the exercise.  It’s all the things that come with spending three nights a week with a dozen other people. 

I’ll probably be back in the saddle in July.  Maybe. 

For now, for tonight, I am sun soaked and tired. 

I will pad around the house and check the locks.  There is cold air coming from the floor vents and it leaves the tile in the entryway a tad bit chilly.  My babies are sleeping soundly in a pool induced coma.  (One of the best parts of summer, I think.)  The bathroom smells like chlorine from the suits that have been rinsed and are tossed over the shower curtain rod.  Sunscreen is packed for daycare tomorrow.  It will be another hot and sticky day and it might storm. 

I do love the beginning of summer.

One thought on “Early summer pool coma.

  1. Jenn! Just got a text from a friend (getting her Sephora list as I am leaving shortly for there…) there is a polish made by OPI for Sephora that is called Note To Self!

Leave a Reply

